RSS

30 years of little girls learning dance moves from music videos

11 Nov

Feminism and art. It’s a concept I rarely talk about on this blog. I think it’s time to address this topic. I was a women’s studies minor in college before switching to art history. I enjoyed my classes of Feminist Theory and understanding the Patriarchal Society. I also saw the flaws, like many causes, that plaque the feminist community. We continue to participate in the patriarchy and even model feminism after the patriarchy example. I realized that I was not a feminist. I care about women’s issues, but really I care about human issues. I am as Alice Walker states a “Humanist”. It’s a concept we don’t hear much nor completely grasp.

I love the blog Tall and Curly!!! She provides a much-needed voice for various topics. I hope she explores the topics of bi racial issues (not just in terms of hair) and internal/external acceptance. Girls today have this “weak” mentality and dependence that doesn’t make sense, especially with roles like TLC, Spice Girls, and Janet. It’s like these girls don’t have a strong role model. I recommend reading “When Chicken-heads Come Home to Roost: A Hip-Hop Feminist Breaks it Down” by Joan Morgan. This book was my deciding factor to explore feminism in my college years. This filled the void of what Angela Davis wrote about in “Women, Race, and Class.” This is also an issue in feminism, separation by race and/or class. We forget the larger system of patriarchy, which is far complex than what we imagine.

I have notice the increase sexuality in recent media as Tall and Curly notes and how this influences our girls as well as our boys. We tend to forget that girl empowerment affects boys as well. It affects our boys positively, it also restructures masculinity. Tupac, poet in my time, lay the most powerful quote I have heard in a long time, that real manhood is about love. We constantly battle with the question of misogyny and rape culture, well this is why. We, as people, allow this to be the standard and norm and call it entertainment. We don’t teach respect and love.

I often battle with sexuality, as far as acceptance and appropriateness. I don’t think our society should be completely devoid of sexuality; however, when does this sexuality cross the line. It’s an issues that bell hooks begins to analyze in her book “Art on my mind: Visual Politics,” in the discussion of black women media portrayal, sapphires vs mammies. Interestingly, I was just reading an article about black sexuality. Here is a link to it: http://chronicle.com/article/Whos-Afraid-of-Black/135960/

We as a people, have a long way to go. Once we realized that we are all connected and that we can change and grow we will begin to love each other. I changed my purpose in life to art promotion because art is power and needs to be harnessed for good. But this is just my opinion. Any thoughts?

P.S. Enjoy Tall and Curly! Love this blog!!!

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on November 11, 2013 in Art and..., Black Females, Uncategorized, Writing

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

 
